Go to content Go to the menu Go to the search

Fields Medal Winners

Quick access, personalized services


Advanced search

UPMC Facts and Figures

  • 31,000 students of which 20 percent are international
  • 3,000 doctoral candidates
  • 9,600 in staff, of which 3,750 are professor-researchers
  • 100 research laboratories
  • 8 main teaching hospitals
  • 8,500 publications per year (approx. 11% of the publication in France)
  • Ranked the top university in France and 6th in Europe by both Shanghai and Taiwan.
  • 4th in the world for mathematics
  • Member of three of the five the European innovation networks, in: Climate, ICT, and Health


Communications Department

+ 33 (0)1 44 27 90 54

Secretariat of the President

+ 33 (0)1 44 27 33 49

Fields medal winners

The Fields Medal is the highest honor that a renowned mathematician can receive.

At the 1924 International Congress of Mathematicians, in Toronto, the Canadian mathematician John C. Fields suggested the creation of a medal to reward outstanding progress in mathematics. Fields did this because of the absence of a Nobel Prize in mathematics.

The first "Fields Medals" were awarded at the conference in Oslo in 1936. Fields wanted the medal to be not only a reward but also an encouragement. That is why the medal is given to mathematicians that are under 40 years old.

Two to four Fields Medals are awarded every 4 years, during the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians.

A total of 48 medals have been awarded since 1936, including 9 that were awarded to the French.

Six of them received their Doctorates from UPMC or the Paris Faculty of Sciences (of which UPMC is the main heir), or have worked at UPMC as a faculty professor-researcher.

In this section